Council Profile

The Council of Juvenile Court Judges is composed of all judges of the courts exercising jurisdiction over juveniles. Council membership for Fiscal Year 2018 includes 149 members: 66 Full-Time Juvenile Courts Judges, 27 Part-Time Juvenile Court Judges; 10 Full-Time Associate Juvenile Court Judges and 7 Part-Time Associate Juvenile Court Judges; 16 Pro Tempore Judges, 4 Superior Court Judges exercising Juvenile Court Jurisdiction; and 19 Senior Judges.

Mission Statement

The Council Staff provides support to juvenile courts through legal research services, legislative tracking, and specialized programs to assist in protecting the best interests of children and the state. Council policies are set by the Executive Committee, which is comprised of the President, President-Elect, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and Immediate Past-President; and the Executive Council which comprises a District Representative from across the state. There are 10 standing committees -- Accountability Courts, Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities (BHADD), Benchbook/Uniform Rules, Children in Need of Services (CHINS), Delinquency, Education/Certification, Legislative, Dependency, Resource Development (Grants), and Technology. These committees make recommendations to the Executive Committee.

Executive Committee

Judge James R. Whitfield

Judge Philip Spivey

Judge Juliette Wilshire Scales

Judge Lisa Rambo

Judge C. Gregory Price

Immediate Past-President
Judge Benjamin 'Ben' Brinson

Judicial District Representatives ~

  • District 1 - Judge LeRoy Burke, III
  • District 2 - Judge Edward Ross Collier
  • District 3 - Judge Deborah Edwards
  • District 4 - Judge Fatima A. El-Amin
  • District 5 - Judge Phillip Jackson
  • District 6 - Judge Thomas Palmer
  • District 7 - Judge Michelle Harrison
  • District 8 - Judge Sherri McDonald
  • District 9 - Judge Jan Wheeler
  • District 10 - Judge Robin Shearer